Email Address: Password:

Untitled Document

Become Certified in Addiction Medicine:

Apply now and join the over 3,000 Diplomates from all Medical Specialties who have become Board Certified in Addiction Medicine by the American Board of Addiction Medicine.

The Next Examination:

The next Certification examination will be given on November 15th, 2014.

Application Deadlines Period:

- Standard, February 15, 2014-May 31, 2014.
- Late, June 1, 2014-July 15, 2014.

How to Get on the List to Receive the Application:

Simply send your name, telephone number, and address to us at

How to Apply:

When it becomes available in early October, simply click on the "Apply for the Examination" button in upper left hand corner of this page.

video screencap

Click the image above to watch Welcome to the ABAM Diplomate and Candidate Web Portal video.

Welcome to all of our Diplomates and Candidates. From zero to well over 3,000 Diplomates in a mere six years—that is progress. Yet, the path ahead will require even more constructive energy to reach our goal: recognition of the field of addiction medicine by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS).

Why is recognition so crucial? Such recognition will enable the infrastructure of American medicine to be used to train new physicians and keep current physicians up-to-date about the unique body of knowledge in the field of addiction medicine, and facilitate the provision of care for patients and their families who suffer from these disorders.

Maintenance of Certification is required by all ABMS Member Boards, and therefore ABAM requires its Diplomates to meet that very important standard. It is critical to gaining recognition.

In order to support you in meeting the MOC requirements and in order to support you in our shared goal to provide quality care for patients who suffer from the disease of addiction, the new ABAM Diplomate and Candidate Portal was launched in April of 2013. We believe you will find tremendous value in the portal and hope you enjoy the new features.

Watch Now

play icon


Maintenance of Certification

Training in Addiction Medicine

2013 Maintenance of Certification (MOC) Four-Part Structure

The American Board of Addiction Medicine's Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program assesses the six core competencies established by Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). This enables the ABAM to assure the public, licensing boards, payers, and regulatory agencies that physicians certified in Addiction Medicine and have the knowledge and skills to deliver quality care.

Licensure and Professionalism (Part I)
  • Diplomates must possess a valid, full, and unrestricted medical license.
Lifelong Learning and Self-assessment (Part II)
  • A. Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment Activities: 24 Credits every 2 Years
  • Each Diplomate is required to complete 24 credits of Self-Assessment Activities every two years.

    This is completed by selecting 24 ABAM approved articles from a pool of 48 that are most clinically relevant to their practice. The list of articles and links to them can be found on the (MOC web portal)

    A score of 75% or higher must be attained on the self-assessment for each article in order to pass that article.

  • B. Continuing Medical Education (CME): 26 CME credits every two years
  • Diplomates assess and enhance knowledge in areas important to their practice using activities developed by the ABAM and other organizations, and each Diplomate is required to complete at least 26 PRA Category 1 Credits™ in Addiction Medicine every 2 years, selecting CME from the list of ABAM Approved Educational Activities.

Cognitive Expertise - Secure Exam (Part III)

  • In year 8 or 10 of a Diplomates MOC Period, Diplomates must pass the secure cognitive exam administered at over 400 prometric testing centers around the world.
Performance Improvement (Part IV)
  • Part 4 of the ABAM MOC Program is in development and has not launched. Diplomates will participate in a range of ABAM-approved performance improvement projects designed to assess and improve the quality of patient care.
  • Log into the ABAM MOC Section of the Portal for more information.

For Current Diplomates due to take the Examination as Part of the Maintenance of Certification Program:

In year 8 or 10 of a Diplomates' MOC Period, all Time-Limited Diplomates must pass the cognitive examination.

How to Find out if you are due to take the examination?

If you are a Time-Limited Diplomate in MOC Year 8 or MOC Year 10, then you are eligible to sit for the examination.

How to Apply for the Examination:

When you become eligible to sit for the exam, login to the Portal and in the MOC tab scroll down to Part III, the Cognitive Examination. You will find a link that will allow You to register for the Exam at no cost.

Application Deadlines Period:

- Standard, February 15, 2014-May 31, 2014.
- Late, June 1, 2014-July 15, 2014.

The Next Examination:

The next Certification examination will be given on November 15th, 2014.