Email Address: Password:

Untitled Document



ADM Exam Prep Tool and In-training Exam for ADM Fellows

The Addiction Medicine Foundation (TAMF) now offers an ADM Exam Prep Tool and in-training Exam for ADM Fellows: Addiction Practice e-Test (ADePt) and Addiction Self Assessment Modules (AMSAMs). To learn more, Click Here. You can purchase these tools by clicking on the Educational Activities tab in your MOC Portal.

ABMS level ADM Certification through ABPM

If you are applying for the ABMS level ADM Certification through ABPM, the following must be completed or ABPM will delay your application:

  • Pay your 2018 MOC Fee
  • Add your medical license information

You will have until Dec.15, 2018 to complete your SAMs and additional CME Activities.

Addiction Medicine Formally Recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS)

The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) announced the recognition of addiction medicine (ADM) as a multispecialty subspecialty, open to diplomates of all ABMS member boards, on March 14, 2016.

While the American Board of Addiction Medicine (ABAM) functions as an independent certifying board, recognition of Addiction Medicine (ADM) by ABMS now identifies ADM as a specialized field of medical practice for which physicians may gain the highest level of certification and credentialing, commensurate with that of over 100 other primary and subspecialty medical fields that are recognized by ABMS. By ADM officially entering the ABMS "House of Medicine," opportunities for physicians to practice in this field, and for patients to receive care from them will be integrated into medical education and training, health care systems, payment structures and the broad practice of medicine. Thus the transition from independent board status to recognition of ADM within ABMS signals the integration of the prevention of and care for unhealthy substance use and addiction into mainstream medicine and health care. For more information about ABMS, visit their website:

  1. The 2018 ABPM, ABMS level ADM exam application will be available at this link:
  2. There will be a check off box for ABAM diplomates who are applying which when checked will waive the requirements for submitting and confirming the time in practice requirement as well as the letter of reference.
  3. ABAM will confirm for ABPM your current ABAM diplomate status based on your registration in the 2018 ABAM MOC program. This is a requirement for all diplomates, including those certified in 2015. Please visit the ABAM MOC portal at: to register for 2018 if you have not already done so.
  4. A recent letter from the ABAM leadership responding to inquiries on this exam can be accessed at or found here: Diplomate-Paths-to-ABMS-ADM-Certification-March-7_2017.pdf


To read the Letter to Diplomates CLICK HERE
To read the FAQ please CLICK HERE
To read the full Press Release CLICK HERE

Transitional MOC Program Requirements

We strongly urge all of our diplomates to stay up-to-date with the current ABAM MOC requirements. ABAM leadership is working with ABPM to plan a smooth transition for addiction medicine MOC activities. Maintaining your ABAM MOC will likely be an eligibility requirement for ABAM diplomates who wish to utilize the qualifying pathway which ABPM is expected to offer to ABAM diplomates (consistent with past new subspecialty fields).

Pay Annual Fee

Licensure and Professionalism (Part I)
  • Diplomates must possess a valid, full, and unrestricted medical license.
Lifelong Learning and Self-assessment (Part II)
  • Each year Diplomates are required to complete 26 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ combined from Self-Assessment Modules, Recommended CME Activities, and Self-Reported activities.

    A. Self-Assessment Modules (SAM): 9 SAM Credits every Year

    This is completed by selecting 9 ABAM approved articles that are most clinically relevant to their practice. The list of articles and links to them can be found on the (TMOC web portal)

    A score of 75% or higher must be attained on the self-assessment for each article in order to pass that article and you will receive 1 CME for each successfully passed SAM. This will count towards the overall requirement of 26 AMA PRA Category 1 credits™

    B. Continuing Medical Education (CME): 17 additional CME credits every year

    In addition to the 9 SAMs, each Diplomate is required to complete at least 17 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ in Addiction Medicine every year.

    These may be earned by completing any combination of additional SAMs, ABAM Recommended CMEs, or Self-Reported CME activities.

Performance Improvement (Part IV)
  • Part IV of the TMOC program is an opportunity for ABAM diplomates to demonstrate competence by applying systematic measurement and improvement in their ability to provide patient care. Diplomates will be required to complete 1 Practice Improvement Module though out their ABAM certification.